Make Mine a… Ginger Mojito

Ginger mojito_5There are lots of great ways to start a Friday evening, and enjoying a cocktail with friends definitely counts as one of them. I’ve already told you how much I enjoy a classic, traditional mojito but there are some wonderful variations that are also definitely worth trying.

This ginger mojito is undeniably one of those. The ginger, lime and mint work together really well, with the ginger cutting through to add a warm and slightly spicy background flavour that’s incredibly appealing. Of course, the ginger syrup adds sweetness too, but by making it yourself you can make sure that it’s not too sweet – it certainly shouldn’t be sugary, and it’s important that the cocktail itself tastes of ginger, rather than syrup.

The traditional mojito is characterised by its refreshing flavour, making it perfect for summer. In this case, the ginger adds a really interesting twist that redefines it as just the thing for autumn.

Recipe: Ginger Mojito

Ingredients

For the ginger syrup:
50g / 2 ounces fresh ginger, grated
175g / 6 ounces caster sugar
8 fl oz cold water
For the mojito:
The freshly squeezed juice of ½ lime
2-3 sprigs of mint
50ml ginger syrup
50ml rum
            I used Havana Club Añejo Especial (golden) rum
100ml soda water (or less, to taste)
4 ice cubes
This makes enough for one glass
Optional: mint and lime wedges to garnish

Method

For the ginger syrup:

Put the ginger and water in a medium saucepan and slowly bring to the boil

Add the sugar slowly, stirring until it’s all dissolved

Take off the heat, cover and leave to steep for 15 minutes

Strain the liquid through a sieve, cool, and put it in the fridge to chill

For the mojito:

Put the freshly squeezed lime juice into a glass

Add the mint sprigs (leaves and stalks)

Gently mash – muddle – the mint to release the flavour

you can use a pestle or the end of a rolling pin to do this

Pour in the ginger syrup and rum, and stir

            I used Havana Club Añejo Especial rum

Add the ice cubes, followed by the soda water (to taste)

Stir well and garnish with a sprig of mint and a lime wedge

About Georgina

Originally from the South of England, I've also had homes in Australia (Canberra) and the US (Los Angeles). I've been based in the UK city of Sheffield for a couple of years now. My blog is about adventures with food - markets, ingredients, books, recipes, places I've eaten and other related experiences. It focuses on stories from Sheffield, South Yorkshire and nearby Derbyshire, as well as places farther afield.
This entry was posted in Drinks, Food, Recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Make Mine a… Ginger Mojito

  1. Great variation! I’ve muddled shavings of fresh ginger in with my mojitos before, with mixed results – the syrup, I wager, would be a superior infusion. (Also don’t feel I’d have any problems finding many uses for it.)

    Great blog

    • Georgina says:

      Thanks! The syrup does seem to work pretty well here. I’ve had a “cheat’s” version before, made with ginger ale, and this is definitely better than that.
      And I’m glad that you’re enjoying the blog!

  2. Iain says:

    I just love these photographs, you really captured the freshness of the mint. Do you think I could make a ‘Virgin’ Mojito without the Rum. Not a great fan of spirits. Great glasses by the way 🙂

    • Georgina says:

      Hi Iain. Thanks for your comment. You can make a non-alcoholic ginger mojito by using ginger ale instead of the rum and ginger syrup. You may want to add some (golden) sugar, depending on your taste (and the ginger ale that you use). You might also want to add a bit of soda water. This should still give you the great flavours of the ginger, citrus and mint. (By the way, a traditional virgin mojito is made with apple juice).

      And I’m glad that you like my glasses – I think they’re great too!

  3. Liz says:

    Fantastic! I love a mojito and I love DIY cocktail syrups and I love ginger. And you just told me how to do all three 🙂 Appreciate you stopping by food for fun’s peanut butter popper post. Can’t wait to read more about you.

  4. Sophie33 says:

    I love yourtwist in this fabulous drink! Yummy! Cheers! 😉

  5. Ooooh! I love ginger and I love mojito’s! What a great recipe.

Leave a Reply

