Make mine a… Mojito: Part I

Mojito_1Some of you may already know how much I love mint. It has an aromatic, sweet and refreshing taste that makes it incredibly versatile. It can be used to create both savoury dishes and desserts, and combines well with an impressive number of ingredients – everything from lamb to ricotta, and lemons to beans and peas. I recently came across a recipe for pea and mint ice-cream, and am seriously considering buying an ice-cream maker just so that I can try it. And I don’t even like ice-cream.

It’s probably not surprising, then, that my favourite cocktail is a well-made, classic mojito. Its a traditional Cuban drink that is characterised by its distinctively refreshing flavour – which makes it the perfect drink for summer – and which is created by the process of muddling mint with lime. And then adding rum, of course.

The recipes that I’ve found stress the importance of the ingredients, as well as the method by which the cocktail is made. So, a traditional mojito is made of five basic parts: sugar, lime juice, mint, rum and soda water. The sugar goes in first, and lime juice is added in order to dissolve it. A generous amount of mint goes in next – including the stalks as well as leaves – which is mashed (or ‘muddled’) in order to release the essential oils it contains. Apparently, no good will come of any attempt to shred or chop the mint before adding it to the glass, so it’s probably best not to try doing that. The rum – which is made from sugar cane – goes in next. Traditionally, white rum is used to make cocktails, including the mojito, but I prefer to use golden rum, which has been aged in wooden (oak) barrels, and has a stronger taste – and far superior flavour – than white rum. After stirring, the drink is topped with soda water and ice cubes (four appears to be the magic number here), and decorated with lime wedges and sprigs of mint.

The traditional mojito – refreshing, tangy and invigorating – is best served as an aperitif.

Mojito_5

Classic Mojito: Ingredients and method

            This makes enough for one glass

Put two teaspoons of sugar in a glass
Add the juice of half a lime, making sure that you cover all the sugar
Add two sprigs of mint
Gently mash – muddle – the mint
– you can use a pestle or the end of a rolling pin to do this
Pour in one part of rum (50ml) and stir
            – I used Havan Club Añejo Especial rum
Pour in two parts of soda water (100ml)
– or less, according to taste
Add four ice cubes
About Georgina

Originally from the South of England, I've also had homes in Australia (Canberra) and the US (Los Angeles). I've been based in the UK city of Sheffield for a couple of years now. My blog is about adventures with food - markets, ingredients, books, recipes, places I've eaten and other related experiences. It focuses on stories from Sheffield, South Yorkshire and nearby Derbyshire, as well as places farther afield.
This entry was posted in Drinks, Recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Make mine a… Mojito: Part I

  1. frugoal says:

    Mojitotally awesome!

  2. thehungrymum says:

    I’ll take two thanks – one for now, one for later 🙂

  3. Lilly Sue says:

    This looks so delicious! I like mojitos that are done well and not too sweet. My brother made frozen mint lime margaritas this past weekend that were super delicious. Also, I am posting about a restaurant that does a twist on a mojito- it was so refreshing! You will love it. Mint and pea ice cream sounds super interesting as well! 😀

    p.s. You can make ice cream without a maker…I did it and it was not too bad- maybe not as creamy but still delicious 🙂

    • Georgina says:

      Thanks Lilly. And I totally agree that a good mojito should not be too sweet. I enjoy margaritas too, and would be really interested to hear more about your brother’s mint / lime version, which sounds wonderful. I’m going to be playing around with a few mojito recipes I think – there are so many of them. But I wanted to start with a classic version, which really is my favourite. I’m looking forward to hearing about your “mojito with a twist” too!

      And I definitely think I’m going to have to try making the ice-cream, which really has me intrigued. That’s a great hint about trying it without an ice-cream maker too. It’s got to be worth trying…

      • Lilly Sue says:

        Most definitely! I cannot wait until you post about the ice cream now 🙂

        Experimenting with cocktails is so much fun. I may eventually post my brother’s mint/lime margarita but it might not be until next summer- we will see but now I am wanting one! Ooh, I think I just am in the mood for a cocktail now 😉 Have a great day!

      • Georgina says:

        It’s pretty much always a good time for a cocktail as far as I’m concerned! I might have to think about the ice cream for a while, but I definitely will try making it. You have a great day too.

  4. One of my ultimate drinks! Beautiful pictures 🙂

  5. grumpytyke says:

    Off for a little trip in Lofty (the camper) before back to work next week. The makings for this will be in the cupboard.

    • Georgina says:

      That sounds perfect. I hope that the weather stays dry, and that Lofty doesn’t let you down… (I’ve been reading all about the saga with his clutch)

  6. WE CAN NEVER HAVE ENOUGH OF THIS REFRESHINGLY CITRUSY DRINK,LOVE LOVE LOVE THE LIME IN THEM AND ALWAYS AN EXTRA SQUEEZE FOR US…ZINGY SIP 🙂

  7. Pingback: Make Mine a… Ginger Mojito | The Fresh Princess of Bel Air

  8. I’m sure your mojito is a lot better than one you’d get at a bar! Cheers! Celeste 🙂

Leave a Reply

