Fish Stew with Chickpeas, Nduja and Sea Spinach

Fish stew with chickpeas, nduja and sea spinach_2This is a wonderfully simply one-pot dish that is quick to make and tastes great. It can be warm and comforting, but is also light and healthy, making it an ideal supper at any time of the year. I make it – or at least some variation of it – fairly regularly, but I’ve probably never made it with exactly the same ingredients twice, and the recipe below should really be treated as something of a guideline.

I’ve certainly never used either nduja (pronounced something like en-doo-yah) or sea spinach before, both of which have been introduced to me by the fishmonger that I’m now lucky enough to live near in Sheffield. And the type and quantity of fish / seafood always varies, depending on what’s available and looks good, as well as the cost.

NdujaI’d never actually heard of nduja before, although I understand that its popularity has been growing, and it’s become increasingly available in the UK over the last couple of years. I’m not really sure how I should describe it. I guess it’s a soft – spreadable – spicy sausage, but I’ve also seen it described as everything from paté to salami. It’s Italian (from Calabria) and is pork-based, using various cuts which are taken mostly from the head and intestines. And it really is very spicy – much more so than chorizo, which is what I’d normally use for this recipe – so you don’t need much to add the most incredible, intense, hot flavour. It also goes very, very well with fish and seafood. But it also seems to be versatile, and I’ve found recipes that use it in all kinds of ways – including on pizza, in pasta sauce, and spread onto bruschetta. It’s definitely an ingredient that I’m going to have some fun experimenting with.

Sea spinachMy fishmonger also introduced me to sea spinach, which I’m pretty sure isn’t actually related to the kind of spinach that is commonly found in stores, and that I normally use in this dish. But I was really glad to try this coastal plant, with its thick texture and slightly bitter flavour. It does need to be washed thoroughly to remove the light, white crust of salt that covers it, but even then, it made a wonderful contribution to this dish, adding what has to be described as a taste of the sea.

Sea spinachThis spicy fish stew doesn’t take long to prepare and cook, and it makes a fabulous casual, relaxed supper. It’s a fairly substantial meal on its own, so you won’t necessarily need anything else with it, but it’s also great served with some crusty bread, which is just the thing for soaking up the fishy, spicy broth. And a glass of chilled white wine is the final, perfect accompaniment.

Fish stew with chickpeas, nduja and sea spinach

Recipe: Fish Stew with Chickpeas, Nduja and Sea Spinach

Ingredients

1 tbsp olive oil
½ tsp fennel seeds
1 tbsp nduja (or a small chorizo, cut into small pieces)
Nduja really is quite spicy, so use less than this if that’s more to your taste
1 clove garlic, peeled and finely chopped
2 leeks, outer leaves removed, washed and sliced
2 sticks celery, chopped
A small glass of white wine
500ml fish stock
1 400g can chopped tomatoes
1 400g can chickpeas
1 large bay leaf
About 600g (sustainabally sourced) white fish fillets, skin and bones removed, cut into medium sized pieces
2 squid, cut into rings or squares
12 king prawns
A couple of handfuls of sea spinach, washed thoroughly (or other spinach)
Serves 4

Method

Heat the oil in a large saucepan or casserole over a medium-low heat.

Add the fennel seeds and cook for a minute or two, then add the nduja and fry for a few minutes, gently breaking it up using the back of a wooden spoon.

Add the garlic, leeks and celery, and cook gently, stirring often, for about 10 minutes, until the leek is soft.

Add the wine and cook until it has nearly all evaporated.

Add the fish stock, tomatoes, chickpeas and bay leaf and bring to a simmer.

Simmer for about 30 minutes, stirring often, until rich and thick.

Taste the sauce, and add some salt and pepper if needed (with the nduja, or even chorizo, it’s likely that you won’t have to add any, but make sure to check).

Add the fish, squid and prawns to the pan, cover and cook for five minutes or so, until it’s all cooked through. Add the sea spinach and stir, allowing it to just wilt into the stew before serving.

About Georgina

Originally from the South of England, I've also had homes in Australia (Canberra) and the US (Los Angeles). I've been based in the UK city of Sheffield for a couple of years now. My blog is about adventures with food - markets, ingredients, books, recipes, places I've eaten and other related experiences. It focuses on stories from Sheffield, South Yorkshire and nearby Derbyshire, as well as places farther afield.
This entry was posted in Fish, Food, Recipes, Soup, Vegetables and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Fish Stew with Chickpeas, Nduja and Sea Spinach

  1. Liz says:

    I immediately wondered what Nduja is but thanks for the detailed explanation. I have never used sea spinach either, now I have two new things to add to “my list of new ingredients”. I must try making some fish stew. Thanks I shall bookmark this interesting stew, must have tasted spicy and nice? Have a fantastic week!

    • Georgina says:

      Thanks Liz. Fish stew is so easy to make, and really does taste incredible – so do give it a go! And I really do love it with spicy flavours, which can be added using chorizo if you can’t get hold of any nduja. I hope that you have a great week too.

  2. This is such a wonderful stew! This sort of reminds me of cioppino, yet with the sea spinach, chickpeas and Nduja this sound even better. I have never heard of Nduja either. Love spicy!

    • Georgina says:

      Thank you. There must be lots of regional variations of a fish stew like this, and I’m sure it is similar to cioppino. It was great to try it with the nduja and sea spinach though, and it really was lovely and spicy.

  3. Iain says:

    I like the look of the sea spinach. I must confess I’m not particularly fond of fish but this stew looks very tasty. Perhaps I could increase the quantity of prawns and squid and reduce the fish? What do you think, would this work?

    • Georgina says:

      This dish is pretty much defined by the flexibility of its ingredients (just don’t forget the nduja / chorizo), so I think what you suggest should be fine. Mussels work well too of course, and if you don’t mind using it, the fish stock adds a great depth of flavour anyway. It was really interesting to try the sea spinach – I’m going to have to find some more recipes and experiment with it a bit, I think.

  4. Jody and Ken says:

    You left a like on our blog, so I thought I come see who you were. Lovely blog… and this is a great post. It took me a minute to figure out “njuda.” I had to pronounce it aloud several time before I tumbled to the etymology – nduja has to be an alternate pronunciation of “endouille.” On-doo-ya. (Or on-dwee, as we say). I’m sure they’re not the same sausage – for one, endouille isn’t spreadable – but the root has to be the same. Anyway, great combo with seafood. Ken

    • Georgina says:

      Thanks for coming to visit. Your blog is always so spectacular – such a pleasure to read, and with such beautiful photographs as well.
      I’m sure you’re right about the etymology of nduja, which I guess is the Italian version of the French andouille / endouille. Is that right? And although they are quite different, the basic idea is probably similar. Interesting. And it really does seem to go very well with seafood.

  5. gotasté says:

    Your mouthwatering photo makes me wanna cook this now 🙂 Awesome!

  6. Sophie James says:

    Such a lovely post. Warming stew with some exotica to lift it to new and interesting heights. I have learned about two new things today: sea spinach and nduja. Who’d have thought it of Sheffield!

    • Georgina says:

      Thanks Sophie. Sheffield seems really interesting from a ‘foodie’ perspective – I’m certainly very lucky in my neighbourhood with a free-range butcher, greengrocer and deli as well as this fabulous fishmonger. It’s definitely going to be fun finding out more.

  7. Amy Tong says:

    I love a good one-pot meal after a long day of work! I love your wonderful Fish Stew with Chickpeas, Nduja and Sea Spinach! Healthful and delicious. Thank you so much for sharing.

  8. Sophie33 says:

    What a lovely mixed stew! I love the combo of fish & chorizo together! Thanks for the introduction of sea spinach!

    • Georgina says:

      Thanks Sophie. This really was the nicest version of fish stew I’ve ever made. And I’m definitely going to have to find more things to do with sea spinach!

Leave a Reply

